Helsott releasing sophomore LP, currently on tour

California folky death metal pagans Helsott are gearing up for the release of their second album, the follow-up to 2014’s Woven, titled Slaves and Gods, on October 12th through M-Theory Audio. The impending LP features guest appearances by Masha “Scream” and Sergey “Lazar” of Arkona, Dr. Leif Kjonnsfleis and Trollmannen of Trollfest, Damna and Lethien of Elvenking, Dom Crey of Equilibrium, and Kevin Storm of Cardamon.

A lyric video for Slaves and Gods‘ title-track was unleashed earlier this week via Decibel Magazine. “We are proud to present the first video and single for the self titled track off of our new album ‘Slaves and Gods,'” says guitarist and backing vocalist Mark Dow. “The hard work that we put in on this record is immeasurable, and we feel like this track represents everything that we have worked for in the past eight-plus years. This song features Dr. Leif from TrollfesT on guitar and is an absolute crusher! Raf with Ecliptic Visions took Felipe Machado Franco’s art and our song and created a very entertaining experience. Crank it up!”

Stream “Slaves and Gods” below.

In more news, Helsott are performing their new effort in full during their summer tour, which kicked off at Reno’s Chop Shop in Dallas, TX last night (8/11) with help from direct support act Sicocis and opening bands Dark Visions of Terror and Malphas on select dates.

A show in Brooklyn at The Kingsland happens on August 20. Buy tickets HERE.

Scroll down for all tour dates.


8/11 Reno’s Chop Shop – Dallas, TX
8/12 Come and Take It Live – Austin, TX
8/13 Santos Bar – New Orleans, LA
8/14 Exit In – Nashville, TN
8/16 Local 506 – Chapel Hill, NC
8/18 Maryland Folk Metal Festival – Ottobar – Baltimore, MD
8/19 Lizard Lounge – Lancaster, PA
8/20 Kingsland – Brooklyn, NY
8/22 Reggie’s Rock Club – Chicago, IL


“Slaves And Gods” track listing:

1. Slaves and Gods (feat. Dr. Leif Kjonnsfleis and Bjorn Friedrichsen)
2. The Coward’s Curse (feat. Kevin Storm and Bjorn Friedrichsen)
3. Winter Smells Like Death (feat. Masha Scream, Lazar and Bjorn Friedrichsen)
4. Whiskey Breath (feat. Bjorn Friedrichsen)
5. Eye of the Past (feat. Damna, Dom Crey, Kevin Storm and Bjorn Friedrichsen)
6. Trollskald (feat. Trollmannen, Kevin Storm and Bjorn Friedrichsen)
7. Zep Tepi
8. Return Hyperborea
9. Honour Thy Valkyrie
10. Runnin’ Down a Dream (Tom Petty cover feat. Lethien)


We like you, will you like us?