Insomnium releasing new LP later this year, playing U.S. shows in 2020

Boasting the recent addition of rhythm guitarist Jani Liimatainen (ex-Sonata Arctica, Omnium Gatherum, Cain’s Offering), Finnish melodic death metal quintet Insomnium have set October 4th as the official street date for their eighth studio album, Heart like a Grave, through Century Media Records. The impending 10-track effort follows the band’s 2016 well-received LP titled Winter’s Gate.

“The concept of the album is to delve deep into the heart of the Finnish melancholy,” says Insomnium via an official press release. “We’ve been inspired by some of the bleakest and saddest songs, poems and tales that truly capture the essence of northern gloom. Land where the frost ravages the harvest and creeps inside the souls, summer ends before it even starts, wife leaves, little brother dies in snow on a Christmas morning, and the golden days of youth are forever gone. So there are echoes of Harmaja, Rautavaara, Vainio, Peltoniemen Hintriikka and of course our own petty, miserable lives.”

The official announcement adds, “Consisting of ten songs and over an hour of music HEART LIKE A GRAVE evolved to be an epic tour de force of Finnish melancholy. With four composers in the band the sound of Insomnium is now richer and more versatile than ever before. In the name of Nordic collaboration the Swedish wizard Jens Bogren has been doing the mixing and mastering and made HEART LIKE A GRAVE to the best sounding Insomnium album ever.”

The remainder of Insomnium‘s 2019 will see them trekking through Mexico and Europe in the upcoming months, along with a solo stop in the U.S. at Atlanta’s popular ProgPower fest on September 4.

In 2020, Insomnium will return to North America for a slew of North American shows, including a recently confirmed stop at NYC’s Gramercy Theatre on March 13 [TIX]. The band are also set to play gigs in Philly, Seattle, West Hollywood, Tampa and much more.

Check out all upcoming dates HERE and see Heart like a Grave‘s cover art and track listing below.


Heart like a Grave track listing:

1. Wail of the North
2. Valediction
3. Neverlast
4. Pale Morning Star
5. And Bells They Toll
6. The Offering
7. Mute Is My Sorrow
8. Twilight Trails
9. Heart Like a Grave
10. Karelia


Insomnium current line-up:

Markus Hirvonen – Drums
Ville Friman – Guitars and vocals
Niilo Sevänen – Vocals and bass
Markus Vanhala – Guitars
Jani Liimatainen – Guitars and vocals


Every ‘like’ helps us get closer to world domination…