Coverage: Slipknot’s ‘Knotfest Roadshow’ storms into Jones Beach (8/28)


One of the summer’s fiercest storms assaulted Long Island for the final week of August, but biting sheets of rain & wind paled in comparison to Slipknot‘s monstrous heavy metal massacre rolling into Jones Beach and ending the season with flame-filled sonic slaughter.

The Knotfest Roadshow packed the beachside amphitheater full of metalheads from early on in the afternoon, thunderstorms be damned. And when Slipknot‘s massive pre-show curtain dropped and the Nine launched into “People=Shit,” fans lost their minds to the crunch of Corey, Clown, and the rest of the band’s outrageous musical hatred. Following with the testicular-centered “Get This,” Slipknot made it clear that they were in town to kick ass and nothing less would be acceptable.

Blasts of pyro echoed Corey‘s furious screaming and the brain-battering drums of Jay Weinberg, Clown, and new percussionist fondly known as Tortilla Man to fans. The biting, evil guitars of Mick & Jim drove in and out of Craig Jones‘ samples while Sid Wilson ran around the stage wreaking chaos as if the broiling pyro had actually set him on fire. Down in the pit, maggots moshed like they were fighting for their very lives, screaming along to new tracks like “Unsainted” and “Solway Firth” before the band dragged out old favorites like “The Heretic Anthem” and “Psychosocial.”

Slipknot slowed the pace down slightly, for a Slipknot show anyway, with a triple trip-out of “The Devil In I,” “Prosthetics,” and “Vermilion,” but closed the show out with new headstomper “All Out Life” and classic killer “Duality.” Based on crowd response, “All Out Life” is likely a permanent fixture in Slipknot‘s live shows for the rest of their career. An encore of “Spit It Out” and “Surfacing” sealed the deal on one of the band’s most vicious setlists of their modern era, and fans trudged out of the amphitheater happily aching and deafened.

Prior to Slipknot‘s reign of terror, Volbeat offered a much lighter but equally passionate hard rock experience. The Danish metallers engaged the crowd with favorites like “Black Rose,” “Dead But Rising,” and the always-rallying “Still Counting.” With the wicked weather just barely holding off, fans were able to jam out especially hard on “Slaytan,” which included Slayer‘s “South of Heaven” in the intro.

Like Volbeat after them, Gojira offered an alternative to the headliner’s brutalest brand of metal. Songs like “Stranded” and “Flying Whales” were ultra heavy and kept the crowd moving, especially the crowdsurfers who nearly overwhelmed barricade security while also tossing around actual inflated toy whales.

Behemoth opened the night with a particularly sizzling set of black metal, complete with sacrificial flame and upside down crosses. The face-painted musicians channeled their most demonic hatred for early arrivals, and it’s frankly a shame that their set was limited to only seven songs and so early in the night.

Slipknot now continues onto to South America and Europe, but rest assured that with the album cycle for We Are Not Your Kind just kicking off, New York can count on at least a couple more visits from the masked nonet in the near future.

Check out photos below.






Slipknot Jones Beach, NY 8/28/2019 setlist:

01. People = Shit
02. (sic)
03. Get This
04. Unsainted
05. Before I Forget
06. Solway Firth
07. The Heretic Anthem
08. Psychosocial
09. The Devil in I
10. Prosthetics
11. Vermilion
12. Wait and Bleed
13. Sulfur
14. All Out Life
15. Duality

16. Spit It Out
17. Surfacing