Pallbearer announce new record, ‘Forgotten Days,’ release new song

Little Rock, Arkansas doom metal band Pallbearer have announced their new album, ‘Forgotten Days,’ which is set for release on October 23rd through Nuclear Blast Records (pre-order).

To celebrate the LP’s announcement, the band have unleashed a brand new single in the form of the impending opus’ title-track in music video form — check it out below.

I’m extremely stoked to finally share this song with everyone,” says singer/guitar player Brett Campbell. Commenting on the Ben Meredith directed clip, Campbell continues: “The video for ‘Forgotten Days’ tells the story of an unfortunate traveler who journeys too far, and becomes lost in the depths of both inner, and outer, space. What is real when you cannot trust your own mind?

Forgotten Days is us exploring what is natural to us,” says bass player/songwriter Joseph Rowland. “The songs tell me where I need to go when I write. We wanted to focus on songs that were visceral and enjoyable to play live – that our audiences would enjoy experiencing. We’re also getting back to more of the groovier and heavier elements of Pallbearer. Heartless is fairly uptempo and technical. This one is a little more open, it hammers you.

This record has a lot of thematic ties to our first record,” Rowland continues. “When we were writing Sorrow and Extinction, my mother was terminally ill. It’s been 10 years since she passed. It’s taken me all of this time to take a really good look at myself. While we were writing Forgotten Days, I knew, ‘Now is the time to sit down and begin to understand who I have become.’”

Joe and I have always written lyrics separately,” adds Campbell. “But we always end up with lyrics that are connected by threads. I’m not sure why that is. Maybe it’s because we’ve been in close proximity for a long while. Between Heartless and Forgotten Days, we were home for an extended period of time. I think we finally had time to reflect. Memory is a big aspect of the new record. The passage of time. How things change as perspective changes. Was the past truly the way that you remember it at all?

The upcoming record was produced by Randall Dunn (Sunn O))), Earth, Johan Johannson) and was recorded at Sonic Ranch Studios in West Texas. The artwork was created by Michael Lierly (drummer Mark Lierly’s brother). Here’s that pre-order link again.

Stream “Forgotten Days”:

Forgotten Days track list:
01. Forgotten Days
02. Riverbed
03. Stasis
04. Silver Wings
05. The Quicksand of Existing
06. Vengeance & Ruination
07. Rite of Passage
08. Caledonia

Artist photo by Ebru Yildiz
Cover image by Michael Lierly
Press release courtesy of Speakeasy PR

Follow NextMosh On: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

This post may contain referral links.

This website uses cookies, and by using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *