Sólstafir shares new song, “Drýsill”

Iceland rock giants Sólstafir have unveiled their emotional new song, “Drýsill,” along with a haunting visualizer. The song and accompanying clip, which was directed/created by Kim Holm and animated by David Hall, give an introspective look at the horrors of domestic violence. Watch and listen at THIS LOCATION:

Drýsill is taken from Sólstafir’s seventh studio album, ‘Endless Twilight of Codependent Love,’ which is due on November 6 via Season of Mist! Pre-order ‘Endless Twilight of Codependent Love’ HERE.

‘Drýsill,’ in Icelandic, means demon,” explains lyricist and drummer Hallgrímur Jón Hallgrimsson.

This is the story of a woman who fell for someone who promised her the world with his smile. She fell captive to his mind games. His intentions were riddled with evil as he fed off of her love. Her humanity disappears as he gains power by mentally and physically torturing her, keeping her locked away in a prison of her own mind. The video illustrates her personal journey through hell as she spirals further into the darkness of captivity until what feels like the end. But one day she is able to gather her strength and use the rest of her power towards the dark to fight her way back into the light. As she kills him with the very shovel he was going to use to bury her with, he is still smiling at her. Laughing at her. Mocking her.

This song is about fighting the demons that you allow to control your mind, and breaking free. It’s about rescuing yourself and finding the strength and the courage to be victorious, no matter how hurt you’ve been.

We were excited to work with Kim Holm (Svartir Sandar album artwork) on this one as we felt he could perfectly capture the dark feelings of despair represented in this story with his art.

Director Kim Holm adds, “Depression is a deep dark demon filled cave that I’ve spent too much of my life in, and as I started finding visuals for Sólstafir’s hauntingly brilliant Drýsill, life and art seemed to mix in terrible new ways. The lyrics deal with themes of death and abuse that I’ve luckily been spared, but the journey through the underworld seemed to metaphorically mirror each day working on it. I like to believe there’s a light at the end of the tunnel, but realistically it’s not so for everyone. Drýsill is a statement that for some, there should be no light. Only the end.

‘Endless Twilight of Codependent Love’ was recorded at the Sundlaugin Studio (Iceland), where ‘Svartir Sandar,’ ‘Ótta’ and ‘Berdreyminn’ were also recorded by producer Birgir Jón Birgisson (Sigur Rós, Alcest, Damien Rice).

1. Akkeri (10:10)
2. Drýsill (08:52)
3. Rökkur (07:06)
4. Her Fall From Grace (06:36)
5. Dionysus (05:31)
6. Til Moldar (04:29)
7. Alda Syndanna (04:30)
8. Or (06:58)
9. Úlfur (08:49)
10. Hrollkalda Þoka Einmanaleikans (06:39) bonus track
11. Hann For Sjalfur (08:09) bonus track
Total: 1:17:49

Artist photo by Gaui H
Press release courtesy of Season of Mist

Follow NextMosh On: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

This post may contain referral links.

This website uses cookies, and by using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *