WVRM share new single “Angel of Assassination”

WVRM have today premiered a new single from their upcoming album, Colony Collapse. The South Carolina grindcore outfit have unleashed Angel of Assasination, exclusively via Decibel magazine – it will be streaming everywhere from tomorrow. Colony Collapse is due for release on April 3. Pre-orders are live now.

Listen to “Angel of Assassination”

Of the track, vocalist, Ian Nix comments:

“Angel Of Assassination is named after Charlotte Corday, a brutal figure from the French Revolution who assassinated Jean-Paul Marat. The song as a culmination of the entire album is trying to convey how action alone moves history forward. All the anger and indignation in the world is nothing in the face of individual and collective action. We probably had the most fun writing and recording this one. This could easily be our collective favorite song on the record.”

Colony Collapse is a product of its surroundings, an anthology of its environment, and a detailed record of the lives of the people who made it. WVRM’s music is political in nature, but far from a broad rage against the machine, their lyrics take a micro-look at the effects of socio-political entrenchment on everyday lives. Proudly working class, they explore both the psychological and physical meaning of being so. WVRM trace the lineage of their ancestral progress, and what it means to participate in a community that lacks upward momentum.

Stating that their music sounds as it does – nihilistic, vicious, caustic – because of where they’re from, because of who they are – WVRM are striking out to redefine what extreme music from South Carolina can be.

Colony Collapse – track list:

1. Walled Slum City
2. War Promise//Secessionville
3. Shining Path
4. Anti-Democracy//Locust Breath
5. Black Flags Toward Sodom (Me Ne Freg)
6. Tank Reaper
7. Hands That Bear The Hive
8. Thorn Palace
9. My Fucking Dixie (The New South)
10. Years of Lead
11. Violet Nuclear
12. Furious Movement//The Burning Tower
13. Colony Collpase
14. Angel of Assassination

Press release courtesy of Pioneer Music Press / Prosthetic Records

Follow NextMosh On: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

This post may contain referral links.

This website uses cookies, and by using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *