Failure reveal new album ‘Wild Type Droid’ + song “Headstand”

Los Angeles alt-rock trio Failure – consisting of Ken Andrews, Greg Edwards and Kellii Scott – have announced their sixth studio offering titled ‘Wild Type Droid,’ which releases on December 3rd, 2021 through Failure Music (pre-order). For a taste of the impending effort, stream new single dubbed “Headstand” below.

The lyrics come from my earliest memory of spacing-out in my room when I was seven, trying to conceive of infinity and watching the dust falling through the bars of sunlight pouring through my blinds,” comments Edwards regarding “Headstand.” “I had heard that a lot of that dust was made up of skin cells and that really stuck with me. It’s kind of a love song to those bizarre innocent moments of solitude.”

To me, it captures a lot of the new musical approaches and techniques we were going for on this album, but somehow is still quintessential Failure,” states Andrews. “We’ve been together long enough to know that some of our best ideas come directly from these experimental sessions. For this album, we simply cultivated that methodology for a much longer time than we have in the past. It brought out the trio aspect of the band. There was a feeling we could really push the individual parts further away from each other and let the more interesting and challenging combinations take center stage.”

Artist Beeple, designed the album’s cover, which you can check out below along with the track listing. “This feels like a good place and time to abandon the space iconography and theme once and for all,” Greg says. “In a lot of ways, this album feels like a return to earth. All minds have been called back to their bodies. There’s a lot to attend to right in front of us.


‘Wild Type Droid’ track list:
01. Water with Hands
02. Headstand
03. A Lifetime of Joy
04. Submarines
05. Bring Back the Sound
06. Mercury Mouth
07. Undecided
08. Long Division
09. Bad Translation
10. Half Moon

Artist photo by Priscilla C. Scott

Also Check Out:

Follow NextMosh On: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

This post may contain referral links.

This website uses cookies, and by using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *