Quicksand reveal new LP ‘Distant Populations’ & song “Missile Command” + fall tour

New York City post-hardcore legends Quicksand have announced their fourth full-length album titled ‘Distant Populations,’ which will release digitally on August 13th and on vinyl on September 24th through Epitaph Records.

A presser states, “Recorded at Studio 4 Recording in Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, Distant Populations was produced and engineered by Will Yip (The Menzingers, Code Orange, Defeater), and mixed by Josh Wilbur (Lamb of God, Megadeth, Avenged Sevenfold). The album is the follow-up to the critically lauded 2017 release Interiors. Sonically it has a punchier, more up-tempo sound than its predecessor, with its 11 songs being concise, carved sonic jewels boasting not a single wasted note. Its gripping lyricism and raw power leap out from the very first listening.

They add, “Throughout the album’s 11 tracks, Quicksand explores the duality of our simultaneous existence in individual relationships and as part of a mass society, while also examining the alienation and loneliness of it all.

Everyone is on the one hand so connected with each other, and on the other hand, is so far apart,” comments frontman Walter Schreifels. “We’re checking out each other’s social media and we know what everybody’s doing. But when we’re sitting in the same room together, we’re looking at our phones.”

To coincide with the new LP announcement, the band have released their new single “Missile Command,” which you can check out below. Regarding the new tune, Schreifels adds, “It really kind of focuses on Sergio’s (Vega) whole motif in a very simple way. He and Alan (Cage) just have this really kind of trademark groove, and I think that really sings on this one to me. I just felt like it’s a kind of song that is very us, but we hadn’t written it yet.

In addition, Quicksand will tour the U.S. this fall, check out all announced dates after the new track.

Tour Dates (updated):
9/28 Boston, MA Paradise Rock Club [TIX]
9/29 Asbury Park, NJ The Stone Pony [TIX]
10/1 Lancaster, PA Tellus 360 [TIX]
10/2 Albany, NY Empire Live [TIX]
10/4 Detroit, MI El Club
10/5 Chicago, IL Metro
10/6 Minneapolis, MN Fine Line Music Cafe
10/8 Denver, CO Bluebird Theater
10/9 Salt Lake City, UT Urban Lounge
10/11 Portland, OR Wonder Ballroom
10/12 Vancouver, BC Rickshaw Theatre [TIX]
10/13 Seattle, WA Neumos
10/15 San Francisco, CA Great American Music Hall
10/16 Los Angeles, CA Troubadour
10/18 Phoenix, AZ Valley Bar
10/19 Santa Fe, NM Meow Wolf
10/21 Austin, TX Mohawk
10/23 Houston, TX Studio @ Warehouse Live
10/25 Atlanta, GA Masquerade (Hell) [TIX]
10/26 Charlotte, NC The Underground [TIX]
10/27 Washington, DC Black Cat
10/28 New York, NY The Bowery Ballroom [TIX]
10/29 New York, NY The Bowery Ballroom [TIX]
10/31 Philadelphia, PA Theatre of The Living Arts [TIX]

‘Distant Populations’ track listing:
1. Inversion
2. Lightning Field
3. Colossus
4. Brushed
5. Katakana
6. Missile Command
7. Phase 90
8. The Philosopher
9. Compacted Reality
10. EMDR
11. Rodan

Quicksand is frontman and guitarist Walter Schreifels, bassist Sergio Vega, and drummer Alan Cage.

Artist photo by Annette Rodriguez

Also Check Out: Candlebox announce 2021 U.S. tour

Follow NextMosh On: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

This post may contain referral links.

This website uses cookies, and by using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *