Foretoken sign to Prosthetic Records, release new single “The Retribution”

Prosthetic Records has signed melodic death metal duo, FORETOKEN, and preparations are underway for the release of their debut album, Ruin. During the creation of Ruin, the pair enlisted Hannes Grossmann (Triptykon, Hate Eternal, ex-Obscura, ex-Necrophagist) on drum duties. The first track from the album is titled The Retribution, which the band say explores “the dilemma of the Norse god Tyr and the sacrifice he needs to make for the Aesir to bind Fenrir.” The track is streaming everywhere now and can also be listened to via the lyric video below. Ruin is set for release on September 4; pre-orders are available now.

Of their signing to Prosthetic, the band commented:
We’re beyond excited to sign with Prosthetic. They’ve had such a killer track record over the years and have released some incredibly influential albums. We’re honored to be part of the roster. We put a lot of effort into our debut album, Ruin, and we’re really happy with how it turned out. We can’t wait for everyone to hear it!

Prosthetic’s Steve Joh adds:
They reached out to us online and asked us to check out the album they had put up on Bandcamp, which I did and instantly I loved it. Killer symphonic and epic death metal!

Combining symphonic elements with genres such as folk metal, melodic death, tech deaths, and black metal, have allowed FORETOKEN (Steve Redmond – guitars and orchestral compositions and Dan Cooley – lyrics and vocals) to create something familiar yet distinct. By merging various forms of extreme metal, FORETOKEN creates captivating sonic landscapes for their mythology-inspired stories. Myths and legends have often been used as narrative devices used to tell cautionary tales of pain, rage, and lament. FORETOKEN’s cinematic approach to songwriting transports the listener into these stories from beginning to often tragic end.

Aside from Hannes Grossmann on drums, the album features James Malone (Arsis) in a dueling guitar solo on the track A Deathless Prison, and was mixed by both Steve Redmond and Jacob Hansen; with mastering being done by Jacob Hansen at Hansen Studios. Jacob Hansen is a renowned producer/engineer who has worked on albums such as The Black Dahlia Murder’s Nightbringers and Fleshgod Apocalypse’s Veleno. The album’s art is a piece by Tomas Honz entitled Fallen Empires. The art gives listeners a visual glimpse of the calamity at the end of the song Hamartia. From start to finish, Ruin is an engrossing listen which brings both melody and technicality to each of its narrative songs.

Ruin track list
1. Bewildering Duress
2. The Retribution
3. A Deathless Prison (feat. James Malone)
4. Harmartia
5. His Rage Made Manifest
6. Indelibility of Inquity

Artist photo by Robert Escue

Press release courtesy of Prosthetic Records

Follow NextMosh On: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

This post may contain referral links.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.