Iron Maiden release new song “Stratego”

UK heavy metal legends Iron Maiden have unleashed their new single titled “Stratego,” which you can check out below via an official visualizer.

The new song appears on the band’s recently announced new album dubbed ‘Senjutsu,’ which marks the follow-up to their 2015 effort ‘The Book of Souls.’ The upcoming new full-length, serving as their seventeenth studio album overall, is set to drop on September 3rd, 2021.

Regarding the news, bassist and keyboardist Steve Harris previously said, “We chose to record at Guillaume Tell Studio in France again as the place has such a relaxed vibe. The setup there is perfect for our needs; the building used to be a cinema and has a really high ceiling so there’s a great acoustic sound. We recorded this album in the same way we did The Book Of Souls in that we’d write a song, rehearse it and then put it down together straight away while it was all fresh in our minds. There’s some very complex songs on this album which took a lot of hard work to get them exactly as we wanted them to sound, so the process was at times very challenging, but Kevin is great at capturing the essence of the band and I think it was worth the effort! I’m very proud of the result and can’t wait for fans to hear it.”

Lead singer Bruce Dickinson added, “We’re all really excited about this album. We recorded it back in early 2019 during a break in the Legacy tour so we could maximize our touring yet still have a long set up period before release to prepare great album art and something special as a video. Of course the pandemic delayed things more – so much for the best laid plans – or should that be ‘strategies’!? The songs are very varied, and some of them are quite long. There’s also one or two songs which sound pretty different to our usual style, and I think Maiden fans will be surprised – in a good way, I hope!


ICYMI, Iron Maiden premiered their new single “The Writing On The Wall” in July, stream the official animated music video below. The track serves as the first single to come off of ‘Senjutsu’ — check out the impending album’s artwork above and track listing below.

‘Senjutsu’ track listing:
1. “Senjutsu” 8:20
2. “Stratego” 4:59
3. “The Writing on the Wall” 6:13
4. “Lost in a Lost World” 9:31
5. “Days of Future Past” 4:03
6. “The Time Machine” 7:09
7. “Darkest Hour” 7:20
8. “Death of the Celts” 10:20
9. “The Parchment” 12:39
10. “Hell on Earth” 11:19
Total runtime: 81:53

Iron Maiden is:
Bruce Dickinson – vocals
Dave Murray – guitars
Janick Gers – guitars
Adrian Smith – guitars
Steve Harris – bass, keyboards
Nicko McBrain – drums

Also Check Out: Black Veil Brides release “Torch” music video

Follow NextMosh On: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

This post may contain referral links.

This website uses cookies, and by using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *