Tears For Fears announce first album in 17 years, ‘The Tipping Point’

English new wave/pop rock legends Tears For Fears have announced their new full-length record and first studio album in nearly two decades dubbed ‘The Tipping Point.’ The effort is set to be released through Concord Records on February 25th, 2022, and, as per a press release, “is a song cycle reflecting many of the personal and professional tipping points the pair — AND THE WORLD — have faced throughout the last seventeen years.” Pre-order here.

When asked why make a new album now? Co-founder Roland Orzabal comments, “Before everything went so right with this album, everything first had to go wrong, it took years, but something happens when we put our heads together. We’ve got this balance, this push-me-pull-you thing – and it works really well.

Co-founder Curt Smith adds, “If that balance doesn’t work on a Tears For Fears album, the whole thing just doesn’t work. To put it in simple terms, a Tears For Fears record and what people perceive to be the sound of Tears For Fears – is the stuff we can both agree on.

The presser adds, “Despite their many hits and 30 million albums sold, the band started making this new record by committee with some of today’s hit songwriters at the behest of their previous management. Before long, this reluctant attempt at compromise failed.

Orzabal explains further, “Eventually, that pressure and tension divided us not just from our management, but from one another too.” The band switched to new management, who were excited over the five tracks the band could both agree on. Orzabal goes on, “Suddenly, for the first time in a long time, we felt like we had someone in our corner who understood what we were trying to do. We felt like we had somebody on our side. It was the first time in a long time that we decided – we have to do this.

Joining Orzabal and Smith on ‘The Tipping Point’ is their longtime collaborator Charlton Pettus along with producers and songwriters Sacha Skarbek and Florian Reutter.

When you’ve known each other as long as we have, and have worked together as long as we have, there’s a bond there that becomes familial. So, it’s different from a friendship,” Smith states. “And it’s different from a marriage. It’s literally like that’s your brother. It’s the kind of bond that you can’t really break. It can fall apart at times. You separate for periods, which I also think is healthy, really. But in the end, we always seem to find each other again.”

Stream the new video for the impending album’s title-track below.

‘The Tipping Point’ track listing:
1. No Small Thing
2. The Tipping Point
3. Long, Long, Long Time
4. Break The Man
5. My Demons
6. Rivers Of Mercy
7. Please Be Happy
8. Master Plan
9. End Of Night
10. Stay
Additional tracks on the deluxe CD edition
11. Let It All Evolve
12. Secret Location
13. Shame (Cry Heaven)

Also Check Out: Once Human release new video single, “Only in Death”

Follow NextMosh On: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

This post may contain referral links.

This website uses cookies, and by using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *