The Absence unveil “Choirs of Sickness” video single

Tampa, Florida melodic death metal crew The Absence have uploaded their new video single titled “Choirs of Sickness” — check out the clip below. The song serves as the first new music to surface from the band’s upcoming ‘Coffinized’ album through M-Theory Audio (due June 25th: pre-order + get the CD and limited-edition vinyl variants here).

‘Coffinized’ was produced and engineered by the band’s own Jeramie Kling (Inhuman Condition, Venom Inc., Goregäng) and Taylor Nordberg (Inhuman Condition, ex-Massacre, Goregäng), and mixed by Kling. The impending album was mastered by Jonas Kjellgren (Immortal, Overkill, Scar Symmetry) at Sweden’s Black Lounge Studios — check out the record’s artwork and track listing below.

Vocalist Jamie Stewart comments, “Haven’t we all been Coffinized since last year? Cooped-up, masked, distanced, trapped within a formless bubble, longing for a collective exhale. We lost loved ones; we lost time, work, sanity… in a way, we lost ourselves. In regard to most bands’ craft, we lost an integral portion of the thing that charges our collective batteries: SHOWS. We lost our abilities to release and to connect with all of our friends and family. We miss the spark; we miss the conversations; and most of all, we miss each and every one of you.

Stewart continues, “This record is a void-bending combustion chamber of creativity. Every single song bears a torch of deprivation, darkness and triumph. In the end, we do actually win. One second, you feel creative and accomplished, validated and whole. The next, you seem empty and worthless, and feel the claustrophobia of being forced into an unwilling casket. ‘Coffinized’ collects in detail the hysterical scratches and screams found on the inside of this casket’s lid – the kind of gashes made by four beings who are very much alive and giving their all to be heard from a forced burial.

A press release adds, ““Coffinized” is THE ABSENCE’s follow-up to their 2018 comeback record, “A Gift For The Obsessed.” That album was the band’s first in eight years, as well as their first for new label home M-Theory Audio. The time period between that album’s release and the COVID outbreak saw the band stay busy by taking their new songs to the road, touring alongside acts such as Deicide, Origin, Jungle Rot, Exmortus, and Hatchet.

The presser adds, “Band members also stayed busy with other outside endeavors, with drummer Jeramie Kling manning the kit for Venom Inc., bassist Mike Leon gigging with Soulfly and Cavalera Conspiracy, and guitarist Taylor Nordberg playing with Massacre. Those three band members took the experiences from those touring gigs and reconvened in the studio with Stewart who has also been busy with his other project, Hot Graves, to put together the 11 tracks of pummeling death metal that compose “Coffinized.”

Stream “Choirs of Sickness”:

‘Coffinized’ track listing:
01. Coffinized
02. Future Terminal
03. Choirs of Sickness
04. Radiant Devestation
05. Cathedral Dawn
06. Black Providence
07. Discordia
08. Treacherous
09. This Consuming Nocturne
10. Aperture Expands
11. Faith in Uncreation

The Absence is:
Jamie Stewart (vocals)
Jeramie Kling (drums)
Mike Leon (bass)
Taylor Nordberg (guitars)

Also Check Out: Inhuman Condition reveal artwork for incoming new album, ‘Rat God’

Follow NextMosh On: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

This post may contain referral links.

This website uses cookies, and by using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *