Thulcandra share new single, “Scarred Grandeur”

Death/black metal veterans Thulcandra have frozen this autumn with their ice-cold riffing! Their brand new single “Scarred Grandeur,” out today, is a versatile tour de force that kicks off the final lap towards the release of ‘A Dying Wish!’

“Scarred Grandeur” worships the glory of putrefying death as it promises clashing guitar play, epic mid-tempo moments, rapid outbursts and discreet acoustics in honor of traditional death metal defined by Unanimated, Dissection or Dismember. With this track, Thulcandra head directly into the eye of the storm, clearing the path for their upcoming, bone-chilling full-length, ‘A Dying Wish.’

Steffen Kummerer on “Scarred Grandeur”:
“Scarred Grandeur“ shows a rather pure and unpolished side of the band. You hear a real band performing relentless from front to end without any compromises. Filthy guitars, scruffy bass and nasty drums – listen to our new single and catch THULCANDRA at a show near you!”

Watch “Scarred Grandeur” here:

‘A Dying Wish’ will be released on October 29, 2021 via Napalm Records – once again carrying the burning torch of the glorious death metal era.

Since their foundation by Obscura mastermind Steffen Kummerer in 2003, Thulcandra has become an indispensable protagonist in the European extreme metal-sphere that reaches way back to the magnificent origins of their genre. Thulcandra are musically and visually shaped by bands like Entombed, Sacramentum and Unanimated, but mainly influenced by genre carving act Dissection.

‘A Dying Wish’ was produced at Unisound Studio by Dan Swanö, keeping the black flame of Jon Nödtveidt alive and worthy. ‘A Dying Wish’ transports the listener right into an icy soundscape of a never ending, severe winter. With 10 blood-freezing tracks delivering clashing guitar riffs, epic slow moments driven by atmospheric acoustic guitars and rapid outbursts of dark and raspy screams, Thulcandra creates another record that continues the great legacy of true death metal.

‘A Dying Wish’ guarantees instant frostbite just as the first glance at the thrilling icy-blue cover artwork promises. After the listener is buried under the opener’s avalanche, Thulcandra spans a dark arc between acoustic interludes and harsh blackened death metal parts. The quiet interlude “In Bleak Misery” marches into “A Shining Abyss”, that guides its listeners like a torch through the night. Dramatic riffing and the screeching growls of Steffen Kummerer create dark and dense walls of sound as up-tempo tracks like “The Slivering Silver” and “Devouring Darkness” offer strong leads, driving riffs and engaging drums that let the storm rage on without mercy. The final, title track “A Dying Wish” provides a great finale that covers everyone and everything under a massive layer of cold, leaving the world behind in nothing but ice and snow.

Thulcandra on the album:
We return with an album full of eerie cold melodies, ice-cold vibes and an over the top production by Swedish legend Dan Swanö at Unisound Studios! Within the first album in 5 years we celebrate the essence of pure black & death metal, adorned with more twin guitars, blast beats and filthy arrangements than ever. We celebrate the release of A Dying Wishwith excessive shows and embark on a European tour to perform for all our loyal fans and supporters in the upcoming months.

Pre-order your copy of ‘A Dying Wish’ NOW!

‘A Dying Wish’ track listing:
1. Funeral Pyre
2. Scarred Grandeur
3. Orchard of Grievance
4. In Vain
5. Nocturnal Heresy
6. The Slivering Silver
7. In Bleak Misery
8. A Shining Abyss
9. Devouring Darkness
10. A Dying Wish

‘A Dying Wish’ will be available in the following formats:
1 CD Jewelcase (RePress)
1 CD Digipak + Bonustrack
1 LP Gatefold Black
1 LP Gatefold Blue + 7 inch + Slipmat
1 CD Digipak + Bonustracks + Plecs
1 LP Gatefold Gold
Digital Full Length Album
Digital Full Length Deluxe Album

Featured photo by Christian Martin Weiss
Press release courtesy of Freeman Promotions / Napalm Records

Also Check Out: Omnium Gatherum share new video single, “Fortitude”

Follow NextMosh On: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

This post may contain referral links.

This website uses cookies, and by using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *