At The Gates promo photo 2022

At The Gates announce new album ‘The Nightmare of Being”

Swedish melodic death metal pioneers At The Gates announces their new full-length album ‘The Nightmare of Being’ today. The album is set for release on July 2nd via Century Media Records.

While main parts for ‘The Nightmare of Being’ were recorded in several different Swedish studios (drums at Studio Gröndal with Jens Bogren, guitars and bass with Andy La Rocque at Sonic Train Studio and vocals at Welfare Sounds with Per Stålberg), the album was mixed and mastered at Fascination Street Studios (Amon Amarth, Opeth, Kreator, etc.) by Jens Bogren, who previously worked with At The Gates on their 2014 comeback album ‘At War With Reality.’ The album’s visual concept and album cover was developed by artist Eva Nahon.

The overall theme deals with the topic of pessimism, and I have been diving deep down in pessimistic philosophers. Trying to understand this way of looking at the world. It is not a negative album, more a gateway into new ideas for me personally, trying out different perspectives. You could call the album an introduction to pessimism as a concept, I guess. It is a very dark album, but not negative,” states At The Gates vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant about the album concept.

Musically ‘The Nightmare of Being’ unveils a newly liberated and adventurous At The Gates with some of the bravest and most mesmerizing material they have ever written. Lindberg Redant adds, “It still sounds like AT THE GATES, 100 percent. It is just more of everything.

‘The Nightmare of Being’ Tracklist:
1. Spectre of Extinction
2. The Paradox
3. The Nightmare of Being
4. Garden of Cyrus
5. Touched by the White Hands of Death
6. The Fall into Time
7. Cult of Salvation
8. The Abstract Enthroned
9. Cosmic Pessimism
10. Eternal Winter of Reason

Further details about ‘The Nightmare of Being,’ its various formats, and pre-order will be revealed on April 30th. Mark your calendars!

At The Gates tour dates:
23.-26.06.2021 Nummijärvi (Finland) – Nummirock Metal Festival
07.-10.07.2021 Ballenstadt (Germany) – Rock Harz Festival
15.-17.07.2021 Gävle (Sweden) – Gefle Metal Festival
15.-18.07.2021 Anyksciai (Lithuania) – Devilstone Festival
25.-31.07.2021 Tolmin (Slovenia) – MetalDays
29.-31.07.2021 Wacken (Germany) – Wacken Open Air

At The Gates is Adrian Erlandsson (drums), Jonas Björler (bass), Tomas Lindberg Redant (vocals), Jonas Stålhammar (guitar), and Martin Larsson (guitar).

At The Gates with Andy La Rocque at Sonic Train Studio // Photo credit: Peter Granberg

Press release courtesy of The Orchard

Also Check Out: Wormwood change title to upcoming album to ‘Arkivet’

Follow NextMosh On: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

This post may contain referral links.

This website uses cookies, and by using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.